Well, that escalated quickly

Said the shepherd boy to the mighty king,
“Do you know what I know—”

Said the advocatus diaboli,
“I object to hearsay!
It’s not admissible, mighty king.
I object to hearsay.
He says, he says, only what he’s heard
From the animals and the wind.
From the animals and the wind.”

Said the lawyer for the little shepherd boy,
“No, this is not hearsay.
By rule 801 section b
This cannot be hearsay.
There is, there is, no prior statement here
Said by any person at all.
Said by any person at all.”

Said the other guy to the mighty king,
“Ask him how he knows this.
The witness will admit, mighty king.
Ask him how he knows this.
The source, the source, for everything he says
It was just a voice on the wind.
It was just a voice on the wind.”

Said the king to the lawyers pro and con,
“How are you both so wrong?
I will overrule both of you.
How are you both so wrong?
Those rules, those rules, don’t apply to me.
If I say so, he’ll testify.
If I say so, he’ll testify.” 

Said the king to the people everywhere,
“Listen to what I say.
I’m in charge, people everywhere.
Listen to what I say.
Because, because, they have displeased the court,
Lawyers now are banned from the realm.
Lawyers now are banned from the realm.


And they all lived happily ever after, to the end of their days.

Leave a Reply

